ElvisPresley.NewsElvis Presley Home

'Record Store Day' Release from MRS : 'Such A Night: Live In Pearl Harbor'

By: Elvis Australia
Source: www.elvis.com.au
January 27, 2016 - 4:17:25 PM
Elvis News, Vinyl Records

Email this page.

Memphis Recording Service will release the limited edition 2LP 'Such A Night: Live In Pearl Harbor' for 'Record Store Day'. Originally released on CD in 2012 now, extra material will be on the vinyl version! Also included is the debut of the recently discovered press conference for the show which was not available at the time of the CD release.

As a bonus, the included 24 page booklet is illustrated with many rare large images and extensive, informative linear notes that recall historical facts up to and including Elvis' arrival and performance in Pearl Harbor.

On March 25, 1961 Elvis Presley performed what would become his final live performance for eight years! The complete recording of that very show is captured here on this limited edition, 180gm, double album set.

MRS will release the 'Elvis Live In The 50's' in February.

Elvis Presley CD, Book and DVD Reviews Record Review : Elvis : Such A Night In Pearl Harbor 'Record Store Day' 2 x LP Record

Track listing

LP 1

Side A :

Preview Special: Elvis Salutes the USS Arizona (Radio Broadcast March 18th 1961):

  1. Part 1 - Featuring 'Take My Hand Precious Lord'
  2. Part 2 - Featuring 'I Believe in the Man in the Sky'
  3. Part 3 - Featuring 'It is No Secret'
  4. Part 4 - Featuring 'Milky White Way'
  5. Part 5 - Featuring 'He Knows Just What I Need'
  6. Part 6 - Featuring 'I Believe'
  7. Part 7 - Featuring '(There'll Be) Peace in the Valley (For Me)'

Side B :

Press Conference and Awards Ceremony, Hawaiian Village Hotel (March 25th 1961)

LP 2

Side C :

USS Arizona Memorial Show : March 25th 1961 - Part 1 - Bloch Arena, Pearl Harbor, Hawaii :

  1. Intro
  2. Heartbreak Hotel
  3. All Shook Up
  4. (Now and Then There's) A Fool Such As I
  5. I Got A Woman
  6. Love Me
  7. Introductions
  8. Such A Night
  9. Reconsider Baby

Side D :

USS Arizona Memorial Show : March 25th 1961 - Part 2 Bloch Arena, Pearl Harbor, Hawaii :

  1. I Need Your Love Tonight
  2. That's All Right
  3. Don't Be Cruel
  4. One Night
  5. Are You Lonesome Tonight
  6. It's Now or Never
  7. Swing Down Sweet Chariot
  8. Hound Dog

Memphis Recording Service will release the 'Elvis Live In The 50's' in February.

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD + 16 page booklet.

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.